Fruits of the Spirit: Joy in Serving Our Families

April 23, 2012 at 3:25 pm Leave a comment

You should know this about me:

I hate housework with the fire of a thousand suns.  I have two baskets of clean, unfolded laundry sitting in my bedroom as I type this, ready to be put away.  My living room looks like a small bomb went off in the toy box, scattering its contents hither and yon.

And cooking?  Let’s just say there’s a reason why I write a devotional blog instead of a cooking blog.  Here’s my major beef – ahem – about cooking dinner: It takes 10 minutes for my family to eat, and 45 minutes for cooking and clean-up.  Not to mention that someone complains and refuses to eat what I’ve made at every. single. meal.  Three times a day, I have a battle of wills with a four-year-old and a two-year-old about eating their vegetables.

It tends to wear on a mom.

To be honest, there are days when I have no joy in my job.  These are the days I fantasize about winning the lottery and hiring a maid and a nanny.  And definitely a personal chef, who specializes in feeding picky eaters.

While I’ve never met him, Steven Curtis Chapman recently wrote a song just for me:

You’re picking up toys on the living room floor
For the 15th time today
Matching up socks and sweeping up lost
Cheerios that got away
You put a baby on your hip and color on your lips
and head out the door
And while I may not know you I bet I know you
Wonder sometimes does it matter at all

How did S.C.C. KNOW this about me???  That’s exactly what I think!  Why does it matter if I put away the toys and the clothes only to have them migrate back into the living room?  No one in this house seems to notice the things I do – so why bother doing them?

But you know what?  The song goes on to say:

Do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you
Cause He made you to do
Every little thing that you do to bring a smile to His face
And tell the story of grace
With every move that you make 
And every little thing you do.*

The apostle Paul says the same thing, although his version in I Thessalonians 5:16 is a bit shorter:

Be joyful always.

Pretty straightforward.  I should be joyful in everything.  Even if it’s changing diapers or settling fights between my kids.  Because serving my family pleases God.  And for that, I should be joyful.

Dear God, you notice all the things I do even when my family doesn’t.  Let me keep you in mind as I’m loading the dishwasher or putting away Barbies today.  Also, if you could somehow match all the tiny little socks, I would be ever so much joyful.  Amen.

*Song source: Do everything by Steven Curtis Chapman.  From his album Re:creation.
Entry filed under: Bible study, Fruits of the Spirit.

Fruits of the Spirit: Love for God Fruits of the Spirit: Joy in the face of great sorrow

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


