Fruits of the Spirit: Peace with His plan

April 27, 2012 at 3:27 pm Leave a comment

inner peaceI love a good list.  I have lists for things that need to get done today and lists for my long-term projects.  I make grocery lists and gift lists.  I have a list for my goals, things I want to accomplish this year, next year, even five years from now.

More than anything, I like checking things off the list.  The sense of accomplishment I get from completing a task or achieving a goal is exciting.  I enjoy seeing the results of my planning.

Sometimes, though, things don’t go according to the plan.  Children get sick, altering daily plans.  Circumstances change, altering our long-term plans.  Doors close, altering our goals and dreams.  And I am forced to adjust and adapt to the change, something that I don’t always do well or willingly.

I don’t like it when things are out of my control.  I like knowing what’s coming up over the next hill and around the next curve.  But we don’t always know where God is going to take us.  That breeds anxiety in Type-A me.

To keep the anxiety at bay, I must always remember that God has promised to lead us, to guide us.  He asks us to give up control of our lives and live in thepeace that he knows where all our roads lead.  Before he left us, Jesus himself says:

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.  ~John 14:27

He will guide us, even through the dark.  He will hold our hands, even as we struggle to break free.  He will blaze a trail for us, even as we try to forge our own ways.

Only God knows what today and tomorrow will hold for you.  No matter what happens, he will be with us and in us.  And that brings me peace.

Entry filed under: Bible study, Fruits of the Spirit.

Fruits of the Spirit: Joy in the face of great sorrow Our Trip to Disney: Meeting the Princesses

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


