Now which box did I pack the kids in?

June 27, 2012 at 8:56 pm Leave a comment

So.  Hi.

Know what I’ve been up to so far this summer?

Here’s a clue:

moving blog 1

And another hint:

moving blog 2

Yes, we are moving.  One month from today, to be precise.

Not that I’m counting the days because I’m excited or anything.

As a result, we have been sorting, purging, selling, and packing every item that we own.  Picture #2 is the current scene from my office, which is in a total state of disorganization and chaos.

I’d like to note – for the record – that the Depends box visible in the picture was in fact a handed-down box and not a package purchased by me or anyone in my household, thank you very much.

Ahem.

I won’t bore you with the nitty-gritty – and believe me, there’s been plenty of nitty-gritty in this whole selling / buying process – but here’s the reader’s digest version of what happened in the past month:

We sell our house in eight days.  To a cash buyer.

We breathe a deep sigh of relief, because a) it’s a lot of work to keep a house show-ready and b) we were worried it might sit for awhile given the current real estate scene.

Panic sets in, because the right house just hasn’t popped up.  This may have been when I started having tornado dreams every other night or so.  (Tornado’s chasing me, I can’t do anything about it, blah, blah, blah.  You know, standard stress-related dreams from a control freak who feels like she has no control.)

Our realtor comes through BIG TIME and finds us a house.  A lovely, open floor plan with a great big yard and many updates.  In a good school district and a nice neighborhood.

We jump through the various required hoops: haggling with the buyers of our house.  Haggling with the sellers of the new house.  Inspection on our house, leading to more haggling with our buyers over what we will and will not fix.  Inspection of the new house, requiring more haggling over what they will and will not fix.  Appraisal on our house, involving us to lower our sales price (DAMN!) because the appraisal was $3500 short.

Now we’re just waiting on the appraisal of our new house.  It’s the last hoop before closing.  Thank God, because I’m tired of hoops.

So if you’re bored one afternoon over the next month or so, come on by.  Especially if you’re handy with a tape gun.  I’ll put your talents to good use.

Entry filed under: Life in general.

Hey, Amy – how ya doin’ on your goals for the year? The pursuit of life, liberty, and a dry place to sit.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


