It Starts With Food.

September 28, 2012 at 7:29 am 12 comments

After my little rant earlier in the week, my friend/cousin Jacque sent me some recommended reading.  She told me I should read the book It Starts With Food.  And then, she said, I should do it.  Implement the book into my life.

While I find it humorous to take eating advice from the girl who once thought Kraft macaroni and cheese was the only food group, I also respect Jacque’s opinion in this area.  She has studied exercise and physiology and has always kept up with nutrition. Not to mention she is fit and is a prime example that being a mom in your mid-30’s doesn’t mean you have to let it all go to pot.

I downloaded the book.  And read half of it that first day.

Image

What I read made total sense.  It talks about how most of our issues with food addiction and obesity and weight-related health problems are not because we are lazy or we lack self-control.  Our problems stem from the poor quality of the food we eat and the havoc they are wreaking on our systems.

Not exactly new information for me, since I’ve done a lot of reading in this area.  However, It Starts With Food breaks down the science of *why* what we eat is damaging to us and puts it into simple, concise language.

I decided to implement it.  I was tempted to wait until Monday, October 1st.  I mean, starting a new program on the first of the month that falls on the first day of the week makes sense, right?  However, I knew I needed to start RIGHT NOW so that I can make changes.

The plan I’m following is called Whole30.  It is the plan outlined in the book, and is based on the idea that we need to get back to whole, unprocessed foods that aren’t damaging to our systems.  We need to get off the sugar and away from the foods that mess up our hormones.

The plan is called Whole30 because it’s meant to last for a month; however, you can do a Whole10, or Whole24, or whatever number floats your boat.  I’m shooting for the Whole30, which puts me through the end of October.  At that time I’ll assess and see if I want to extend it.

Whole30 eliminates:

  • Sugar
  • Alcohol
  • Dairy
  • Grains
  • Legumes
  • Soda

BUT!  You can have:

  • Meats
  • Veggies
  • Fruits
  • Nuts
  • Certain fats
  • Tea, black coffee, & water

I started on Wednesday.  The first day was easy.  Yesterday, I felt like hell.  My head hurt.  I could barely keep my eyes open.  My detoxing had begun.  Coupled with the fact that I messed up my back Wednesday night, I was a hot mess yesterday.

Today, honestly, I still feel like I have been hit by a truck.  The headache is lingering.  I just feel…off.  Not right.  I slept all night and feel like I could lay down and take a good, long nap today.

I have horrible swings between “I can do this!” and “Enough!  No one will care if I eat a cookie.  And I need a cookie RIGHT NOW.”  However, *I* will know if I eat the cookie.

And now all of you will know if I eat the cookie, too.  That helps me to stay the course.  According to everything I’ve read (and Jacque’s own testimony) this fog I am in should pass in the next two weeks.  The fog should lift as I start to shake off the effects of sugar and Diet Coke and processed junk I’ve been eating.

I know some of you are thinking this is extreme.  It is, somewhat.  But I need something extreme to get me jumpstarted in the right direction.  To rewire my brain from thinking about food constantly.  I need to learn to reach for the things that do positive things for my body instead of destroying it.

This much restriction is not forever.  But it’s a way to get me started towards a healthier lifestyle.

I’ll be talking about it here over the next 30 days.  If you’re interested in learning more about it, you can find the Whole30 plan here.  They have a shopping list over there as well as guidelines for the plan.  Or send me an email and I can do a quick-and-dirty summary for you if you think you might want to get started, too.

Entry filed under: A weighty matter. Tags: , .

Starting With Why. Whole30 Week #1 Complete!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Candice  |  September 28, 2012 at 10:56 am

    (i’m testing really quick to see if you have comments in moderation or if the frickin’ NOVEL I just wrote got lost somewhere in the internet – don’t mind me)

    Reply
  • 2. Candice  |  September 28, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Okay, it did get lost somewhere in the internet. But Google Chrome saved it when I clicked ‘back’. Yes! AS I WAS SAYING (haha):

    I really hope this plan works out for you. I know it’s hard to get started with ANYTHING that changes the way we eat. Believe me, I know. 🙂 I have started working toward being healthier and losing weight as well.

    Looking at the list of stuff you can’t have, I was kind of like “…uhhhhh, this is not sustainable.” But then I saw that it’s only for a month (as the name might suggest!). After you finish up with this program, I suggest you make an account on myfitnesspal.com and look into their program. It’s based off the amount of calories that you body generally needs to function (it’s called BMR, and it’s different for everybody because it’s based on many different factors) and the amount of calories needed to maintain your current weight (called TDEE, and also different for everybody). The basic science of weightloss is calories in vs calories out. So if you are creating a healthy calorie deficit (i.e., consuming fewer calories than your TDEE but more than your BMR), your body will burn fat for fuel. It’s just how it works, period. Eating ‘clean’ is important because you feel more full and it’s BETTER fuel, but it’s not 100% necessary all the time – you’ll lose weight regardless.

    I was pretty skeptical because the number they gave me was really high to me, but I’ve learned that it only seemed like too many calories because my idea of a diet is 1,200 calories, no carbs, lots of misery. But sure enough, I’m eating mostly what I want and in two weeks, I’ve lost five pounds. And I know that it’s sustainable because I don’t feel like I am making changes that I can’t continue with my entire life. When I get to my goal weight, I should be able to maintain it on 2,200-2,400 calories a day. 2,200 is actually my current calorie goal to LOSE weight, and I can almost never reach it. The thought of eventually getting to eat that much and maintain is exciting – it makes me feel like gaining it back is way less likely.

    Sorry, I didn’t mean to write a novel – I’m just pretty excited to have discovered for myself something that is so SIMPLE and still effective. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. ~Amy  |  September 28, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Candice!! 🙂 Your first comment did go into moderation…but these showed up.

    I am so excited for you! I saw some of your posts regarding your working out and eating healthy on FB. It’s an awesome feeling when it starts to “click.”

    I have been on MFP for a while now. (Early 2011, I think?) I love the program; the nerd in me loves tracking and looking at my numbers. I also like the “social” aspect of the site.

    I have had a hard time, however, getting into the groove of tracking consistently or eating things that were good for me. After I do this 30 days, I’m planning on getting back on MFP and diligently tracking everything.

    Friend me over there…I am amyjhwk98. I may not be very active on the site until November but I should be on there pretty regularly after that.

    Reply
    • 4. Candice  |  September 28, 2012 at 2:15 pm

      Yay! I will friend you for sure!

      What I’ve found is easiest in terms of tracking is logging my food at least one day before. I have to pack my lunch a lot of the time because I live off campus now, so when I am in the kitchen at night getting lunch ready for the next day, I go ahead and decide what I will eat for dinner the next day, as well as snacks. So before my day starts, everything I plan to eat is logged. That helps me know where I have wiggle room if I really feel the need to snack on something that isn’t planned, or if I’m offered food or something. It’s also kind of fun, because I’ll log something for a snack and sort of forget about it, and then when I see that it’s accounted for and I haven’t eaten it, it’s like BONUS FOOD! Who doesn’t love bonus food?! 😉 Yesterday I had some time (well…it was during a lecture, but that counts as free time to me in this dumb class), and I planned my grocery list and actually logged lunch and dinner from this Sunday to next Friday. I’m excited!

      Reply
      • 5. ~Amy  |  September 28, 2012 at 2:26 pm

        I have always been most successful when I pre-plan. There for a while earlier in the year I was doing the whole week on Sundays. It took a lot of time but it was so worth it!!

        I also love bonus food. I mean, who wouldn’t?? 🙂

  • 6. Sara  |  September 28, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    This sounds a lot like a Paleo diet plan. It is amazing how much clearer everything is a few days sans sugar, but man that stuff is like heroin. Seems like every time I fall off the wagon, I fall further. I commend you on never giving up and continuing to seek out what works for you. If you need additional resources/recipes for this style of eating you should check out marksdailyapple.com and mypaleoplan.com.

    Reply
    • 7. ~Amy  |  September 28, 2012 at 5:13 pm

      Ah, Sara, my sister in sugar. 🙂 This is a lot like paleo from what I’ve read. I always continue to search for the thing I’ll stick with. For me that seems to be the biggest issue: staying with it and not giving up.

      Reply
  • 8. Andrea Gegen  |  September 28, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    Read “Wheat Belly” and this will last more than 30 days. It will become a lifestyle. Not that you will never eat these things, but it is VERY enlightening!

    Reply
    • 9. ~Amy  |  September 28, 2012 at 5:58 pm

      Andrea – I have read Wheat Belly! It definitely made me think about the way our supposedly “healthy” food is produced.

      Reply
  • 10. Whole30 Week #1 Complete! « Blankies & Booboos  |  October 3, 2012 at 11:55 am

    […] more info about Whole30 and what I’m doing?  Go here. You know you wanna share this post:Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

    Reply
  • […] Day 19 of 30 on my Whole30 […]

    Reply
  • 12. It’s day 30 of 30. So what now? « Blankies & Booboos  |  October 25, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    […] is Day 30 of my Whole30. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


