Whole30 Week #1 Complete!

October 3, 2012 at 7:55 am 1 comment

It’s day 8 of Whole30.  The beginning of week #2.

I’ve stayed on plan an entire 8 days.  Which is 7 days longer than I’ve stayed on anything else lately.

And I haven’t cheated.  Not once.  Have I been tempted?  Sure.  I had a staring match with a bag of chocolate chips in my cabinet last night.

I ate half a peach instead.  That’s a non-scale victory (NSV) right there, folks.

Here’s what I’m noticing, 8 days into it:

  • I’m not hungry all the time.  High levels of protein are keeping my blood sugar steady.  Before, I would eat a meal and want to eat again an hour later.  Now, not so much.
  • I have more energy during the day.  I’m getting a lot more done.
  • I am more focused and less “foggy”.
  • I have been in a better mood, for the most part.
  • I fit into a pair of pants today that I haven’t worn in a while.  My stomach area seems like it’s flatter.  (Notice I didn’t say flat.  That would take a surgical procedure or an act of God to get me to a flat tummy.)  But I’m definitely smaller in the mid-section.

I miss sugar.  I’ll admit, I like treats.  I also like a cold beer every now and then.  That’s off limits too.

I don’t really miss dairy; I have never been much of a milk drinker.  I did eat a lot of Greek yogurt for snacks, but it lifted easily out of my diet.  I don’t miss beans.

I’ve yearned, pined for, craved, and dreamed about bread.  A good bagel.  A warm roll.  That’s the tough stuff for me, and probably the thing I most needed to eliminate.

Looking forward to the next 23 days, I need to make more Whole30 compliant recipes.  I have been living on the same foods for the past week. Kinda sick of them.  I have several great recipes from different websites; I just need to make them.

Also, I am still fighting headaches.  I hope they disappear in the next week or so.  I’m also interested to see if my IBS – which has improved somewhat – continues to get better.

Here’s to week 2!!

Want more info about Whole30 and what I’m doing?  Go here.

Entry filed under: A weighty matter. Tags: , .

It Starts With Food. Some days are easier than others.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Candice  |  October 3, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    I was just wondering today how you were doing with this! Glad it’s going pretty well for you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


