It takes two.

October 7, 2012 at 9:33 am Leave a comment

Tomorrow is our wedding anniversary.  Brad and I are celebrating seven years of wedded bliss overall general happiness.

To mark the occasion, we planned a date night. The girls would sleep over at the grandparents’, and we would go out for dinner.

I woke up yesterday morning fully planning to cheat on my diet. The plan was to eat a fairly clean meal, but I was going to have some dessert and maybe a drink.  It’s my ANNIVERSARY, after all, shouldn’t I be allowed to enjoy it??

Brad saved me from myself.

I told him of my plans early in the day.  He looked at me as if I was crazy (he does this often), and said, “Why would you do that to yourself?  If you cheat now, you’re just going to confuse your body.”

I was annoyed with him at first.  It’s MY decision, isn’t it?  I’m a grownup, I can eat what I want!!  But the more I thought about it, the more I realized he was on to something.  I don’t want to destroy what I’ve worked on over the past twelve days.

I hate it when he’s right.

So I stayed pretty much on course, although I will say that our meal wasn’t totally Whole30 compliant.  We went to a Japanese steakhouse.  The meat was cooked in butter, which I’m not supposed to have.  But I stayed away from the rice and the noodles mixed with bean sprouts, and just focused on the meat and veggies.  I even gave Brad my pineapple sherbet.

Accountability.  Isn’t that one of the hallmarks of a good partnership?  Brad kept me accountable and reminded me why I was doing what I was doing.  He’s not afraid to call me out on stuff, which I appreciate. He truly wants me to succeed.

I’m glad I have him in my corner.

Entry filed under: A weighty matter. Tags: .

Some days are easier than others. It’s Just My Competitive Nature. (Subtitled: Why Amy hates sucking at stuff.)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


