Mama said there’d be days like this…

October 18, 2012 at 1:58 pm 1 comment

I promised I would be truthful here about my journey with Whole30.  As tempting as it is to share only my victories and not my failures, well…let’s just say I’ve never had a good poker face.

Yesterday was day 22.

Yesterday I fell off the wagon.

Well, not fell so much.  Jumped, actually, into a plastic case of Lofthouse Sugar Cookies with pink icing and sprinkles.  Then the wagon circled back around and ran over me, as I succumbed to the siren song of some cheese cubes, bread, and peanut butter.

(Somewhere, my friend Jacque – instigator of this whole change in my eating – is giving me a patented Jacque look.  Kind of a cross between an eye roll and a large facial twitch.  I can feel it from here.)

Not such a great day, yesterday.

My defenses were down.  I was tired.  Haven’t slept much lately, between this stupid chest cold that has taken up residence and my three-year-old who thinks staying in bed at night is “boring”.

I was in a bad mood.  Despite the rules, I got on the scale yesterday morning.  (Again, the Jacque eye roll.)  And the scale says I’m down a whopping three pounds since I started this thing.

Whoopity-do.

I know, I know, the POINT of this process is not just weight loss.  It is a lifestyle change, a physical reset.  There are many, many other benefits to eating this way, some of which I’m already experiencing.  But DEAR GOD ALMIGHTY, would a good loss in poundage simply be TOO MUCH TO ASK???

It was my choice.  I made the choice to go off plan.  And you know what?  It wasn’t a good choice.  I felt like poo the rest of the day.

So what now?  I had a bad day.  But I’m not going to let it derail my efforts entirely.  Not this time.  I’ve been down that path too many times and it has gotten me nowhere.

I’m making the choice today to march forward.  I had already decided to continue this path until November 20th.  So I’ve got 32 days to make the right choices.

Here we go.  Again.

Entry filed under: A weighty matter.

It’s Just My Competitive Nature. (Subtitled: Why Amy hates sucking at stuff.) Book recommendation: 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. It’s day 30 of 30. So what now? « Blankies & Booboos  |  October 25, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    […] never imagined I would make it past day 1.  Instead, I went three whole weeks without a cheat.  Day 22 was a disaster, but I managed to pick myself up, dust myself off, and move forward. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


