It’s day 30 of 30. So what now?

October 25, 2012 at 1:09 pm Leave a comment

Today is Day 30 of my Whole30.

I never imagined I would make it past day 1.  Instead, I went three whole weeks without a cheat.  Day 22 was a disaster, but I managed to pick myself up, dust myself off, and move forward.

I’m not done.  Day 22 proved to me that I still have a lot of work to do.  I’m going to treat tomorrow as a new Day 1, and I’m DETERMINED to do this without a cheat through Thanksgiving Day. I had originally decided I was going to go until my birthday on November 20th, but since it’s only 2 days before Thanksgiving this year, I’ll just wait until that day.

Only 27 days until Thanksgiving.  Easy, right?

Here’s what I’ve learned over the past 30 days:

  • I can survive without sugar and Diet Coke, the two things I previously wanted to be stranded on a desert island with.
  • Eating lots of protein keeps you full and keeps the snackies at bay.  Not exactly breakthrough research, but I can testify to the staying power of protein.
  • I actually like sweet potatoes.  Who knew?
  • It is very, very difficult to eat out and stay on plan.  And we do a lot of eating out as a society.  It’s no wonder we’re fat as a society, too.
  • Eating this way takes work.  My family eats processed foods because a) they are easy; b) I am lazy; and c) I am not a good cook.  Which leads me to…
  • Planning ahead is the key for success.  The days I struggled were the days without a strategy.  The first three weeks, I spent Sunday afternoons prepping breakfasts and lunches, and putting together my eating plan for the week.  Those were the easiest weeks for me.
  • I am surrounded by the greatest group of cheerleaders a girl could have.  Friends and family have supported me, motivated me, yelled at me (via the computer – Jacque!), and picked me up when I fell down.  I hope I can repay the favor to all of you.

As for the physical results, they are mixed.  Certainly, I have reduced my cravings for junk.  My pants are fitting better.  The first two weeks, I slept GREAT, better than I have in years.

On the flip side, my sleeping has been fitful at best these past two weeks.  I wonder if my hormones are still struggling to even themselves out, especially after I disrupted the progress with my dive into forbidden territory on Day 22.

I’ve lost 4 pounds.  Which is great, right?  I keep trying to see it as FOUR POUNDS!!  Instead, I see it as only 4.  Harumph.  I know there are other factors at work here; my broken sleep, especially, is probably hindering me in this regard.

I’m going to make some tweaks over the next 27 days.  I am going to start tracking on MyFitnessPal again.  The point of the Whole30 is to focus on quality; now I’m going to focus on quality and quantity.

Fruit and almond butter are both crutches for me.  Bananas, especially, got me through many sugar cravings.  I’m going to cut back on both of those items, limiting myself to two servings of fruit every day and almond butter just three times a week.  The bananas are going to be eliminated entirely.

I would highly recommend this way of eating to anyone who is looking  to get rid of the sugar / carb / junk food cravings and start eating in a more holistic way.  If you’re interested in learning more about it, the book It Starts With Food is a great place to start.  Or visit the Whole30 website to get more information about the eating plan.

Entry filed under: Life in general. Tags: , .

Book recommendation: 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life Hey, look! Blankies & Booboos isn’t dead!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


