Hey, look! Blankies & Booboos isn’t dead!!

January 14, 2013 at 5:04 pm Leave a comment

So, um.  Hi.

Did you think I’d forgotten about the blog?  It HAS been a while.  Apologies to my faithful readers, all 5 of you.

Things got a little crazy around mid-December.  Alissa’s last day of school was December 14th, and she had 2.5 weeks off.  I took a few days off from work as well, visions of leisurely mornings and lazy days swimming in my head.

Not exactly how it went down.  Instead, we spent most of those days running around crazy-like.  By the time school started back up again on January 2nd, I was glad for the regular routine to resume just so things could slow down.

What’s going on around here?  Let’s do a little run-down:

We bought a new car.  Well, not a NEW car, but a new-to-us car.  Wasn’t really expecting THAT little Christmas gift, but my 2003 Ford Escape was needing lots of TLC.  After conducting a thorough cost-benefit analysis (sorta) we decided that it was more effective to get a vehicle now instead of waiting a year or two like we had planned.  We ended up with a 2007 Ford Edge, fully loaded.  It’s a zippy car.  I like most everything about it, except for the zippy payment it came with.  I have to admit, not having a car payment for a while has been nice.

And since we have a new car payment to make, I’ve added more hours at work.  Okay, so the car payment wasn’t the real reason that I did this, but it was nice timing.  My work load and responsibilities have increased, and adding more hours was just a necessary thing for the growth of the business at this point.  I’m still only working part-time; my current set-up is a nice balance of work hours and home hours.

In comedy news, I’ve decided to run a half-marathon in 2013.  (I’ll wait for the laughing to die down.  Done?  Okay.  Let’s continue.)  I set that for my big goal of the year.  Brad’s question for me was “WHY?  Why do you feel like you need to run a half-marathon?”  And my answer for him was this: Just to see if I CAN.  I have watched and been inspired by so many other women – women who are my age-bracket, with jobs and kids and life responsibilities.  They are women who have pounds to lose, women who aren’t going to win any of the races but find victory merely in finishing.  I want to see if I can join that group.

There’s a half-marathon here on May 5th and I plan to enter.  I have already started training for it, because I am going to need allllll the time I can take to prepare.  I may come in dead last, and I may have to walk across the finish line, but I will finish.  And since the race is on Cinco de Mayo, I plan to follow up my race that day with all-you-can-handle margaritas to dull the pain that comes from running 13.1 miles.

As a preview, I plan to do a weekly training wrap-up here on the blog, just to a) keep me accountable and b) motivate anyone else who might be thinking about taking a similar journey. Look for those wrap-ups once a week, probably on Mondays.

In related news, the other goal I’ve set for myself is to track everything I eat in 2013.  I’m not saying I’m going to stay on track every single day, but I’m going to log the good, the bad, and the ugly.  I use myfitnesspal.com, if you’re interested in doing something similar for yourself.  It’s a handy web-based tool that also has handy apps for convenience.  So far, we’re two weeks into the new year and I’ve logged everything.

Other than that, things are pretty dull around the Blankies & Booboos household.  We have lived in this house for six months now, and we’re still working on making it our own.  There are so many projects to finish, projects that seem little on the surface but always open up a pandora’s box of five other things that need to be accomplished.  Both the girls are thriving in school, and Alissa is starting to get involved in activities like Daisies.  Soccer will resume in the spring; right now, though, we are enjoying a nice lull in the activities.  I suspect that this is our last year before we really get sucked into the whirlwind of kids’ activities and sports.  I plan to fully enjoy the fact that we are still in command of the majority of our time, because I know that it won’t be long before our time is dictated by outside forces.

I hope to be more diligent about updating the blog this year.  I know you are all waiting breathlessly for each new post.  🙂

Entry filed under: Life in general.

It’s day 30 of 30. So what now? What’s playing in Amy’s ear?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories


