So long, farewell, auf wienerschnitzel, goodbye…

April 14, 2013 at 9:24 am 1 comment

I have had a hard time writing this post.

It’s been in my head for a year.  I have put it off, and put it off, and put it off.  But the time has come to take action.

I’m shutting down Blankies & Booboos.  It’s been a labor of love for me for five happy years now.  And I hate to see it go away.

But.

I have been thinking a lot lately about my kids and their privacy.  Alissa was a baby when I first started blogging here.  Now she is in grade school and Ashley is in preschool.  I love sharing their stories, but as they get older I hesitate to put too much about them out there.  I never, ever want them to be embarrassed or feel I have exposed too much of their privacy by sharing things about them with people they don’t know.

We are still very much in the era of blankies and booboos around here.  Both my girls love their blankies and Ashley is always covered in band-aids for her booboos, both real and imaginary.  Yet I see us slowly moving into the next stage of our lives.  While this blog hasn’t yet outlived its purpose, it may soon.

Don’t despair (or rejoice!) about my absence just yet.  I have a new blog project in the works that will debut soon.  Over the past year I have blogged frequently about my struggles with weight and my challenges with getting healthy.  My new blog will include stories from my personal journey, as well as posts about fitness, food, health news, and anything else that might sound interesting.  I hope you’ll follow me on the new blog once I get up and running.

I have appreciated all your comments, support, and participation in my giveaways.  There were days when my girls were tiny that blogging here kept me from losing my mind.  It has been comforting to know that many of you have struggled with the same parenting & life conundrums that I have struggled with over the past few years.

Thanks for everything over the past five years.  It’s meant the world to me.

~Amy

Entry filed under: Life in general.

What is going ON here?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tina  |  April 14, 2013 at 7:06 pm

    That is so exciting to know you are still going to be writing. You are very talented. Can’t wait to hear how your new adventure will begin and how it will be going.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like my Facebook page!

Get my app for Android!

Categories